Protected Characteristics

At Oyster Park Primary Academy, we work to ensure that our children understand that:

There are no outsiders at Oyster Park

Everyone is different

We celebrate our differences

We are all equal in our differences


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

1.)    Age

2.)    Disability

3.)    Gender Reassignment

4.)    Race

5.)    Religion or belief

6.)    Marriage or civil partnership

7.)    Sex

8.)    Sexual Orientation

9.)    Pregnancy and maternity


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted at Oyster Park Primary Academy though:


·         Our school vision and ethos

·         Our school values of ambition, bravery and respect

·         Our school behaviour policy

·         Role modelling by all adults in our school community

·         Effective communication with parents.

·         Our bespoke Social, Moral, Spiritual and Cultural curriculum

·         The promotion of British Values

·         Our Relationships, Sex. Health Education curriculum

·         Developing a love of reading through a range of authors and genres

·         Discussions within curriculum subjects

·         Promoting articulation through our oracy curriculum

·         Religious Education lessons

·         Sporting competitions

·         Our School Council

·         Anti-Bullying Ambassadors

·         Educational Visits

·         Guest Speakers

·         Developing links with the local community

·         Extra-curricular opportunities


Embedding Protected Characteristics into the whole ethos of Oyster Park Primary Academy promotes:

Our Protected Characteristics Library Protected Characteristics Curriculum